Department of Me​dicine

The Department of Medicine has come a long way since its inception as an undifferentiated clinical depa​rtme​nt in 1986, with its original seven full-time faculty members. Today, the department is the largest department in terms of number of faculty with 69 full time, 46 part-time, 3 visiting and 5 research faculty members. 

The department has nine specialities in which faculty with diverse experience is serving the patients, educating students, tranining residents and conducting high quality research.

The Department of Medicine is recognised for the scope and quality of the clinical services it provides, its research activities and excellent scholarly productivity and by the size and success of its undergraduate and postgraduate programmes for teaching and training medical students, residents and fellows. 

The Department of Medicine was the first clinical department at AKU to expand its residency training programme to four years, as mandated by the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Pakistan. 130 residents and approximately 300 medical students rotate through the Department annually.

It has following specialty areas:

  • Cardiology

  • Diabetes, Endocrinology, and Metabolism

  • Gastroenterology

  • Dermatology

  • Infectious Diseases
  • General Internal Medicine

  • Nephrology

  • Neurology

  • ​P​ulmonary and Critical Care Medicine​