​Advisory Committee

The Advisory Board provides advice on the academic programming and community engagement activities to be undertaken at AKU-ACER. The board is advisory to the Provost and Vice President, Academic on the University’s launch and operations of academic programming and community-based outreach at the AKU-ACER. The Committee is to consider the launch, implementation, and ongoing development and continuous improvement of a wide range of activities falling under the theme of environmental research and action.

Co-Chairs of the Advisory Committee

  • Prof Salim Virani, Vice-Provost (Global Research), AKU (Co-Chair)

  • Prof Dugan O’Neil, Vice-President, Research and International, SFU (Co-Chair)


  • Dr Carl Amrhein, Provost and Vice President, Academics, AKU

  • Honorable Mohamed Othman, Member, Board of Trustees, AKU

  • Mr Nizar Somji, Chancellor University of Alberta & Director General Campus Planning and Development, AKU

  • Dr Emnanuel Sulle, Director, Arusha Climate and Environmental Research Centre, AKU

  • Ms Fareena Feroze, Director, Global Engagement Office, AKU

  • Dr Naomi Krogman, Dean of the Faculty of Environment, SFU

  • Ms Shaheen Nanji, Executive Director, International, SFU

  • Dr Tammara Soma, Assistant Professor, Resource & Environmental Management, SFU and Research Director and Co-Founder of the Food Systems Lab

  • Dr Chris G. Buse, Assistant Professor, Environmental Health Inequities, Faculty of Health Sciences, SFU

  • Dr John R. Spence, PhD, Professor Emeritus, Faculty of Agricultural, Life and Environmental Sciences - Dept Renewable Resources, University of Alberta

  • Dr Lorne Babiuk, DSc Microbiology, PhD Virology, BSA Soil Microbiology, Professor Emeritus, Faculty of Agricultural, Life and Env. Sci – Deans Office, University of Alberta

  • Mr Alais Morindat, Masai Community Elder

  • Dr Lee Foote, PhD Ecology, MSc Wildlife Management, BS Forestry, Professor Emeritus, Faculty of Agricultural, Life and Environmental Sciences - Dept of Renewable Resources, University of Alberta

  • Dr Hulda Shaidi Swai, Oliver Tambo Chair Holder in Nanotechnology, PI for Data Driven Incubation and Innovation Centre, Director Africa Center of Excellence CREATES, School of Life Science and Bioengineering, NM-AIST

  • Dr Joyce Kinabo, Professor of Human Nutrition, Department of Food Technology, Nutrition, and Consumer Sciences, Sokoine University of Agriculture (SUA), Morogoro

  • Dr Jimmy Smith, PhD, Director General, International Livestock Research Institute

  • Ms Salima Jethani, Director, Global Engagement, SFU

  • Mr Saleem Shiraz, Manager, Global Engagement, AKU