Convocation 2012​

Members of Aga Khan University’s Board of Trustees, alumni, faculty and staff honoured 326 graduates at the 25th AKU Convocation​ in Pakistan on Saturday, November 17, 2012.​

This year, the University's Institute for Educational Development graduated 42 students of whom one received a PhD, 31 received their Master of Education and 10 students were awarded Advanced Diplomas in Teaching English as a Foreign Language. 

The School of Nursing and Midwifery had 11 Master of Science in Nursing, 78 Bachelor of Science in Nursing degrees conferred as well as awarding 51 Diplomas in General Nursing. 

A total of 125 degrees were conferred in the Medical College: 96 medical doctors, 9 Master of Science degrees and 20 Master of Bioethics degrees. Advanced Diplomas were awarded to 19 students.

Sana Asghar Ali Habib, a student of 4-year BSc Nursing programme, received Best Graduate Award for the School of Nursing and Midwifery and Zeb Ijaz Saeed, an MBBS student, was awarded Outstanding Student Award from the Medical College.

Valedictorian Irfan Ahmed Siddiqui, MBBS programme​​ addressed the graduands.​

Three distinguished faculty members were presented with University Awards of Distinction. Dr Ghaffar Billoo and Dr Sadrudin Pardhan were conferred with the title Professor Emeritus while Dr Zulfiqar Bhutta​ was presented with Award of Distinction.

Finally, the University took time to recognize two of its founding Board members: ​Dr J. Robert Buchanan​ and (late) Dr J. Fraser Mustard.​​​​​