Convocation 2009​

AKU's 22nd Convocation, on December 12, 2009, marked the graduation of 328 students in the fields of nursing, medicine and education. This year, the University held the Convocation in two sessions: for the Medical College and the Institute for Educational Development in the morning; and for the School of Nursing in the afternoon.

Dr Maleeha Lodhi was the chief guest at both the ceremonies with President Firoz Rasul in attendance.

Altogether, 114 Medical College and 42 Institute for Educational Development students were awarded their respective degrees and doctorates. The Medical College's Best Graduate Award and Gold Medal was presented to Dr Taimur Saleem. The Gold Medal is awarded to a student who tops 3 of the 4 certifying examinations including the final examination. This year's recipient achieved the highest aggregates score in all the 4 certifying examinations and became only the eighth recipient of the Gold Medal in the University's history.

In the afternoon's ceremony for the School of Nursing, 172 nurses were granted their respective degrees. The Best Graduate award was conferred upon Afroz Sadiq Sajwani of the BScN programme.

University awards were presented to three faculty members. The title Professor Emeritus was conferred on Dr Jamsheer Talati; the Award of Distinction was given to Dr Syed Husain Mohammad Jafri, and the Award of Excellence in Education was presented to Dr Rukhsana W. Zuberi.

Both ceremonies were attended by vice-chancellors, senior government officials, diplomats, national and international academicians, donors and prominent citizens. ​​