Based at the Aga Khan University Hospital ​in Nairobi, Kenya and Aga Khan Hospital in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, Aga Khan University offers Postgraduate Medical Education (PGME) programmes in nine areas of specialisation.

PGME programmes consist of four years of training and​ examinations, leading to a Master of Medicine (MMed) degree. They attract candidates from across East Africa who are admitted on merit. ​The curriculum ​and training is developed to provide relevant and contextual learning for practice in Africa with the goal of nurturing specialists who will impact the development of health systems in their respective countries. Areas of clinical specialisation include:

  • Anaesthesiology (offered in Nairobi, Kenya)

  • Anatomic Pathology (offered in Nairobi, Kenya)

  • Clinical Pathology (offered in Nairobi, Kenya)

  • Family Medicine (offered in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania & Nairobi, Kenya)     

  • General Surgery (offered in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania & Nairobi, Kenya)

  • Imaging and Diagnostic Radiology (offered in Nairobi, Kenya)

  • Internal Medicine (offered in Dar es Salaam, Tan​z​​ania & Nairobi, Kenya)

  • Obstetrics and Gynaecology (offered in Dar es Salaam, Tan​z​​ania & Nairobi, Kenya)

  • Paediatrics and Child Health​ (offered in Dar es Salaam, Tan​z​​ania & Nairobi, Kenya)

Admissions have closed for ​2024 cycle. The last date for submission of applications was April 19​​.

​Eligibility Criteria​

Following is the eligibility criteria applicable for 2024 admission cycle:​​​​​​​​​​

  • Certified copies of Medical School transcripts and degree certificates.

  • Medical board/council registration certificate and Annual Retention Certificate (applicable to those in practice for more than one year); or receipt as proof of payment for the certificate.

  • Letter of internship completion or clearance letter from medical superintendent of internship station.​​

  • Letter of application supporting intention to enter the programme.

  •  A detailed current curriculum vitae.

  • A statement of purpose demonstratin​g intent to join the programme, of not more than 1000 words.

  • Letter(s) of appointment for previous employment, where applicable.​​

For further information you can reach us using contact details provided ​below.​​

Explore the Programme

Explore the Progr​a​m​me

Read More  ​​​​​​​​​​
Apply Now

Apply Now


​Office of the Registrar

Nairobi Campus
​Tel: +254 20 366 2109 ​​​/ 2106​​
Email: mc.ea@aku.edu ​

Dar es Salaam Campus​
Tel: +255 22 211 5151 
Email: pgme.dar@aku.edu ​