Convocation 2008

Aga Khan University celebrated its 21st Convocation ceremony on Saturday, November 29, 2008, with 276 students graduating in the fields of medicine, nursing and education. His Excellency Sindh Chief Minister Syed Qaim Ali Shah was the chief guest at the ceremony that was attended by the University's Board of Trustee members, senior government officials, national and international academicians, donors, students and their families.

AKU Medical College Dean Dr Mohammad Khurshid carried the University blazon this year ahead of the procession of faculty and students. The ceremony was held at the University campus on Stadium Road.

Convocation 2008 saw Aga Khan University's School of Nursing award 67 Diplomas in General Nursing, 28 Post-Registered Nurse Bachelor of Science in Nursing (Post-RN BScN) , 33 BScN, and 12 Master of Science in Nursing degrees to students. The Medical College awarded degrees to 80 Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS), 4 Master of Science (MSc) in Epidemiology and Biostatistics, 4 MSc in Health Policy and Management, 6 MSc in Clinical Research, and 3 Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degrees in Health Science. The Institute for Educational Development awarded 39 Master of Education (MEd) degrees.

The Medical College Best Graduate Award was presented to Dr Roomasa Channa, and the valedictorian was Ms Shamsah Raheem Dhanani from the Institute for Educational Development.​​​

Professor ​Sheikh Arshad​ Saeed ​was conferred with the title Professor Emeritus.​​