Convocation 2013​

The Aga Khan University held its Ninth Convocation Ceremony at two locations in Kenya:

The Aga Khan Pavilion (Nairobi)
Aga Khan Academy (Mombasa)


A total of 44 degrees were conferred:
Bachelor of Science in Nursing: 29 Graduates
Master of Medicine: 15 Graduates
Mr Mugo Kibati, Chief Exectuive Officer, Vision 2030 (Kenya), was the ceremony’s Chief Guest.

An Award of Distinction was also conferred on Dr Yasmin Amarsi. This award is approved by the University’s Chancellor and the Board of Trustees and presented in order to recognize and honour outstanding persons who have contributed constructively and consistently to the development of the University.

President Firoz Rasul presented the citation for the Awa​rd of Distinction.
Dr Christine Wanja Murungi presented this year’s Valedictory Address.


Thirty Kenya Registered Community Health Nursing Diplomas were awarded.

Professor Dr Miriam K. Were, Member Board of Directors of the Global Health Workforce Alliances, and Goodwill Ambassador Community Health Strategy, Kenya was the ceremony’s Chief Guest.

Ms Harriet Karimi Mutunga presented this year’s Valedictory Address.