SONA​M at a Glance

​Basic Facts

  • Dean: Dr David Arthur, RN, MEd, PhD, FACMHN, CMHN
  • 4,107 nursing and midwifery graduates to date
  • 66 faculty members
  • Leaders in integrating blended-learning or e-learning in nursing programmes
  • Leaders in offering simulated clinical experiences as part of nursing education using our state-of-the-art Centre for Innovation in Medical Education (CIME)
  • SONA​M’s alumnus was the first nurse-midwife elected as President, Pakistan Nursing Council (PNC) in 2016
  • Over 46 publications in peer-reviewed journals in 2017 alone
  • About 12 active grants  
  • Faculty SONA​M awarded Genevieve Gray PhD Medal in Nursing and Marrie Goubran Award​

SONA​M Firsts

  • First operational academic unit of the Aga Khan University in 1980
  • First nursing institution in Pakistan to be affiliated with a University
  • First to offer Post-RN BScN programme in 1988
  • First to offer BScN programme in 1997
  • First to offer MScN programme in 2001 as well as​ MScN with specialty tracks in Education and Clinical
  • First to offer BSc in Midwifery in 2013
  • First to offer PhD in Nursing in 2015
  • First active Sigma Theta Tau International Chapter