Neurology Faculty

Full-Time Faculty

Dilraj Singh Sokhi, BMedSci, MBChB, MRCP
Assistant Professor  

Dr. Sokhi is the Section Head of Neurology. He completed his BMedSci first-class honours from the University of Sheffield in 2004 and his MBChB first-class honours from the same university in 2005. He received his MRCP (Neurology) Specialty Certificate Royal College of Physicians (RCP) UK in 2013. He was an academic clinical fellow and contributed to basic sciences research in motor neuron disease. During his clinical neurology training he developed interests in epilepsy, infections of the nervous system, and adult neurology training. Dr. Sokhi has been working with the neurosurgery services on developing hyperacute stroke initiatives as well as developing a stroke pathway at the hospital. He has been involved in various research initiative both locally and internationally and is an active member of the Pan-African Association of Neurosciences (PAANS), International League against Epilepsy (ILAE), National Epilepsy Co-ordination Committee of Kenya (NECC) and British Association of Stroke Physicians (BASP). Dr. Sokhi is also a member of the Royal College of Physicians of London (MRCP).


  1. Sokhi D, Brockington A, Lo C. Practical Neurology linked to the curriculum: an online resource. Pract Neurol. 2017 Jan;17(1):2-3. 

  2. Jenkins L, Cosgrove J, Chappell P, Kheder A, Sokhi D, Reuber M. Neurologists can identify diagnostic linguistic features during routine seizure clinic interactions: results of a one-day teaching intervention. Epilepsy & Behavior 64, 257-261, 2016.

Sylvia Mbugua, MBChB, MMed 

Senior Instructor

Dr. Sylvia Mbugua, a consultant neurologist, graduated from the University of Nairobi with a MBChB degree in 2000 and an MMed degree in 2008. She later pursued an 18-month specialized neurology training at the National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery in London and graduated in 2017. She served as the Internal Medicine Residency Program Director from 2012 to 2013. Her research interests focus on epilepsy in Kenyans and stroke outcomes with a special emphasis on door-to-needle and door-to-CT scan care in Kenya. Dr. Mbugua has been a member on several committees including Code Blue, Disaster Preparedness, Departmental Quality Improvement and Patient Safety, and Departmental Board of Examiners Committee, which she chaired. Dr. Mbugua has been the recipient of many awards including Medical Officer of the Year. She is an active member of the Kenya Association of Physicians and Kenya Medical Association.


Currently none

Part-Time Faculty

Peter Mativo, MBBS, MMed