Postgraduate Medical Education

We offer four-year residency training in Anaesthesiology leading to the award of Master of Medicine (MMed) degree. Anaesthesiology covers the assessment and optimisation of patients prior to and during sedation for invasive procedures and surgery, and acute postoperative pain management.

Our innovative teaching methods enable graduates to acquire knowledge, skills and professional attributes. Graduates develop into leaders and advocates of high quality and safe anaesthesia practice, becoming lifelong scholars with the capacity to conduct research that supports clinical practice and teaching. Subspecialties include:

  • Acute and chronic pain management

  • Ambulatory anaesthesia

  • Cardiothoracic anaesthesia                        

  • Critical care medicine

  • Neuroanaesthesia

  • Obstetric anaesthesia and analgesia

  • Ophthalmic, ENT, Maxillofacial anaesthesia

  • Orthopaedic anaesthesia

  • Paediatric anaesthesia

Continuing Medical Education

The department of anaesthesia conducts regular journal club sessions, case presentations, mortality morbidity reviews and workshops as part of continuing medical education activities. Our skills laboratory is equipped with simulators used in training our residents in our programme’s core competencies.


We have a strong faculty who bring to the department a wealth of experience having trained in some of the best centres in the world. Faculty expertise ranges from clinical excellence to medical education. They actively participate in regional policy development in anaesthesiology including leadership in the Institute of Educational Development, Kenya Society of Anaesthesiologists and the newly launched Kenya Society of Intensive Care Medicine.


The department has undertaken research following the university wide theme of “social determinants of disease” with particular focus of pain syndromes and management of critically ill patients with sepsis in a resource challenged environment.

Clinical Hospital and Regional Services

As part of Aga Khan University Hospital, Nairobi the Department provides a full range of services related to subspecialties in Anaesthesiology. ​​

​Contact Us

​Aga Khan University Hospital, Nairobi

3rd Parklands Avenue

Off Limuru Road

Nairobi, Kenya


+254 20 366 2158 / 2157 / 2000

+254 20 374 000​


Mailing address:  

Programme Director

Department of Anaesthesia

P.O. Box 30270 - 00100

Nairobi, Kenya