​Haile T. Debas Teachers’ Academy Advisory Body

Haile T. Debas Teachers’ Academy​ Advisory Body (TAAB) was formed in August 2019 to guide the implementation of the Haile T. Debas Teachers’ Academy in its first 5 years. TAAB is comprised of the following external and internal members:


Dr Haile Debas, Chairman pro tem, AKU Board of Trustees and Founding Executive Director, Institute for Global Health Sciences, University of California, San Francisco.


Dr Tashmin Khamis, Professor and Vice Provost, Quality, Teaching and Learning, AKU.

​Ex-Officio and Director, Haile T. Debas Teachers’ Academy (interim): 

Dr Khairulnissa Ajani, Assistant Professor and Director, Teaching and Learning, AKU.

External Members:

  1. Dr Debra Dawson, Director, The Centre for Research on Teaching and Learning in Higher Education, Western University and former Director of Western University’s Teaching Support Centre.
  2. Dr Elizabeth Canon, President emerita of the University of Calgary & a Member, AKU Board of Trustees.
  3. Dr Helen Loeser, Former Director Academy of Medical Educators, University of California, San Francisco.
Internal Members (Deans and their Designates):
  1. Dr Adil Haider and Dr Saniya Sabzwari- Medical College, Pakistan
  2. Dr Lukoye Atwoli and Dr Dorothy Kamya- Medical College, East Africa
  3. Dr Tazeen Ali (interim) and Dr Khairulnissa Ajani- School of Nursing, Pakistan
  4. Dr Eunice Ndirangu- School of Nursing, East Africa
  5. Dr Farid Fazal Panjwani and Dr Tasneem Anwar- Institute for Educational Development, Pakistan
  6. Dr Nancy Booker -Graduate School of Media and Communications
  7. Dr Leif Stenberg- Institute for the Study of Muslim Civilisations
  8. Dr Stephen Lyon or Dr Anjum Halai- Faculty of Art and Science
Chairs, Haile T. Debas Teachers' Academy:​
  1. Dr Sadia Fatima (Chair, Membership)- Medical College, Pakistan
  2. Ms. Shanaz Cassum (Chair, SoTL)- SONAM, Pakistan​

Sahreen Chauhan, Manager, Haile T. Debas Teachers’ Academy​