​​Message from the Chair

The Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at the Aga Khan University, Nairobi Campus is deeply committed to provide excellence in teaching and training residents in the disciplines of Anatomical and Clinical pathology, basic and translational research, scholarship and diagnostic services of the highest standard  in the region.  We boast a team of  highly trained and skilled technical  personnel and 15 expert-specialist faculty involved in collaborative and multidisciplinary research. 

As the largest of SANAS Accredited (ISO15189) reference laboratories in the East African region and our state-of-the-art technologies, we offer a full range of service in all branches of pathology including but not limited to Flow cytometery, Platelet transfusions, and Allergy testing. Our histopathology section runs a  large panel of Immunohistochemistry markers to accurately identify and classify various kinds of cancer.

The Department incorporates the divisions of Clinical Chemistry, Medical Microbiology, Haematology, Transfusion Medicine, Molecular Pathology, Cytopathology and Surgical Pathology.
All our services are available 24 hours daily throughout the year.
Zahir Moloo, MD, FRCPC, FCAP
Associate Professor and Chair
Department of Pathology And Laboratory Medicine
Aga Khan University, Nairobi Campus