Radiation Oncology

The Radiation Oncology faculty are committed to advancing state of the art radiation treatment in patients with a variety of cancers. Our radiation oncology unit is located at the basement of the Heart & Cancer Centre building, Aga Khan University Hospital, Nairobi. The unit is equipped with two dual energy linear accelerators with electronic portal imaging which is intensity modulated radiation therapy (IMRT). There is a dedicated wide bore CT simulator. Our treatment focuses on 3D conformal treatment planning. We offer standard External Beam Radiotherapy Treatment (EBRT) as well as High Dose Rate (HDR) brachytherapy. The unit is well-staffed and operates on international standards of radiation safety and delivery​​​.

Dr Angela Waweru, MBChB, MMed BSc (MedSci), FRCPath
Senior Instructor​

Dr Waweru is a Senior Instructor and Section Head of Radiation Oncology at the Aga Khan University Medical College, East Africa.

She graduated with an MBChB degree at the University of Sheffield and undertook her core Medical and Clinical Oncology training in Sheffield Teaching Hospitals where she received her certificate of completion of training in 2015 and thereafter took on a Consultant Clinical Oncologist position within the same hospital.

She is passionate about increased uptake of advanced radiation technological advances that achieve better outcomes and less toxicity. She has been instrumental at starting advanced radiation services at a leading health care facility in Nairobi. She has also promoted public private partnerships within radiation oncology and in 2022 started a pathway for treating patients requiring more conformal techniques of treatment.​

Dr Waweru is keen on promoting radiotherapy governance, she has started radiotherapy safety committees, peer review meetings and service development projects that benchmark local activities against standard guidelines.

She is a Fellow of the Royal College of Radiologist (RCR), Member of the Royal College of Physicians (MRCP), ​Kenya Society of Haematology and Oncology (KESHO) and European Society of Radiation Oncology (ESRO).