​Webinar Series​

REGISTER HERE

Webinar 1: How Stress and Trauma Impacts Your Brain and Mental Health

Date: Thursday, September 29, 2022
Time: 5.00 pm EAT, 7.00 pm PKT, ​3.00 pm BST​

With the understanding that there is both ‘good’ and ‘bad’ stress and that trauma contributes significantly to bad stress, let us go on a journey of discovery to uncover how stress and trauma impact our brains and, consequently, our mental health​.


REGISTER HERE



Webinar 2: Is it Your DNA or your Environment that Dictates Your Mental Health? - The Power of Epigenetics

Date: Thursday, October 6, 2022
Time: 3.00 pm EAT, 5.00 pm PKT, 1.00 pm BST

​Remember the age-old adage, like mother, like son?  During this webinar, we add our voice to the debate, “What contributes more towards your behaviour; your inherited traits or your life experiences?” We do this through intellectual discourse between global north and south experts and add a tinge on the implications of culture on the power of lived experience to the debate. We will also learn how impact of stress and trauma can be transmitted across generation.


REGISTER HERE

Webinar 3: Addiction and Mental Illness: Which Comes First?

Date: Thursday, October 13, 2022
Time: 3.00 pm EAT, 5.00 pm PKT, 1.00 pm BST

​Mental Illness can be defined as “health conditions involving changes in thinking, emotion, or behaviour negatively impacting functioning in social, work, or family activities”.  Furthermore, many persons with mental illness also tend to be addicts. The questions then arise as to what comes first, the addiction or the mental illness? Does one contribute to the other or are they part of the mental illness spectrum? Let's listen to the experts and persons with lived experiences to better understand why these conditions co-occur so often.  

Panel Members​-  Mr Fareed Khimani​ Dr Carlos Blanco 

 Dr Florence Jaguga



 

REGISTER HERE


Webinar 4:​ Mind-Body Health: A Holistic Approach to Mental Health​

Date: Thursday, November 03, 2022
Time: 3.00 pm EAT, 5.00 pm PKT, 1.00 pm BST​

​​The World Health Organization (WHO) defines health as a complete physical, mental, and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease. Further, WHO states that “there is no health without mental health.”

Therefore, a better understanding of how our bodies and minds link/connect should significantly mitigate the incidence of co-existing conditions, thereby supporting those with mental ill-health and chronic physical conditions.​

Panel Members​-   Binny Sharma​​  Prof Janet Turan 

 Dr Edith Kamaru Kwobah

​​