Achievements and Awards


Dr Muhammad Rizwan Khan
, Associate Professor, Section of General Surgery received The Outstanding Teacher Award at the Awards Night on November 16, 2012 in recognition of Excellence in Teaching and Academic Pursuits


Dr Pir Bux Salim Mahar, Senior Lecturer, Section of Ophthalmology received Gold Medal Award from Ophthalmological Society of Pakistan, Hyderabad Chapter in November 2012 for Outstanding Services in Ophthalmology, Post graduate Training and Teaching, Research and Publications

Dr Saida Rasul
, Senior Lecturer, Section of Dentistry and former chair of various civil societies, health educational institutions was awarded The Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal.  The Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal was created to celebrate Her Majesty’s accession to the Throne 60 years ago. This commemorative medal is a tangible and lasting way to pay tribute to 60 000 Canadians whose achievements have benefited their fellow citizens, their community, their organization, and the country. It provides an opportunity to look back and recognize those who made Canada what it is today, and to look forward and recognize youth who are actively involved in our country’s future.
This precious Medal was awarded on
October 24, 2012 

Dr Lubna Mushtaque Vohra
, Instructor, Section of Breast Diseases, has become the First Asian Trained Surgeon to be certified by European Board of Surgery Qualifications in Breast Surgery, on October 1, 2012 


Dr Shaista Masood Khan, Abdulaind D. Charolia Professor and Head, Section of Breast Diseases received the award of Sitara-e-Imtiaz in recognition of the exemplary services in Health Sector for the people of Pakistan in August 15, 2012 

kh, Senior Instructor, Section of Dentistry has been appointed as Faculty of Examiners for the MFDS Examination by the Dental Examinations Committee of The Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh July 11, 2012

Dr Saida Rasul
, Senior Lecturer, Section of Dentistry and former chair & member of Simon Fraser University board of governors awarded degree of Doctor of Laws, Honoris Causa, at the graduation ceremony of The Simon Fraser University, Burnaby British Columbia, Canada on June 13, 2012

Dr Inam Pal, Associate Professor & Head, Section of General Surgery received The Outstanding Teacher Award at the Awards Night in recognition of Outstanding Teaching and Academic Pursuits in 2011     


 Dr Shazia Sadaf, Senior Instructor, Undergraduate Education received The Outstanding Teacher Award at the Awards Night for Sustained Excellence in Scholarship of Discovery in 2011

Professor Jamsheer Talati, awarded title of Professor Emeritus, Section of Urology in December 2009

Dr Farhat Abbas, Professor & Dean – FHS, The Hussein Cumber Professor of Surgery-Urology, G.B. Ong Gold Medalist, Awarded Tamgha‐e‐Imtiaz by the President of the Pakistan in 2009


Dr Shaista Khan, Abdulaind D. Charolia Professor, Section Head of Breast Diseases & Sitara-e-Imtiaz awarded Honorary Fellowship by the Pakistan Society of Clinical Oncologists in Lahore, 2009​

Dr Anwar Suhail, Assistant Professor, Section of Head & Neck Surgery (Otorhinolaryngology) received Outstanding Teacher Award in 2002